Foreword

Author(s): nan Session Name: Intro Materials SEAM: 6 (1965) SEAM EDX URL: https://edx.netl.doe.gov/dataset/seam-6 EDX Paper ID: 130

FOREWORD

The Symposium on Engineering Aspects of Magnetohydrodynamics is meant primarily to serve as a forum for discussion of current research and development in engineering magnetohydrodynamics.

This preprint booklet is intended to aid in the exchange of information between the participants in the Sixth Symposium. It is not intended as a substitute for publication in the recognized journals.

The presentations at this Symposium as at the prior two Symposia are of two categories. The twenty minute presentations are generally of completed work and a complete text of each of these presentations is preprinted herein. The ten minute presentations which include also some reports of work in progress are represented in this booklet by their abstracts. It is hoped that these abstracts will aid materially in the exchange of information.

The preprints have been prepared directly from the Author's manuscripts without editing of any kind. Certainly there will be errors and omissions. In this the Program Committee requests the indulgence of the reader. It was considered undesirable to advance the paper deadline in order to allow time for such editing.

The Sixth Symposium was sponsored jointly by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, Inc., the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the University of Pittsburgh and the Carnegie Institute of Technology. The preparation of these preprints was carried out by the Technical Activities Office of the AIAA under the direction of Mr. Paul J. Burr.

The Symposium is directed by a Steering Committee. This year Professor Jack L. Kerrebrock served as Chairman. The program was prepared by a Program Committee under the Chairmanship of Professor Eli Reshotko. SEAM #6 (1965), Session: Intro Materials

- 2 -

Professor Blaine I. Leidy served as Chairman of the Arrangements Committee. The members of these committees are listed below.

Steering Committee	Program Committee
J. L. Kerrebrock, Chairman	E. Reshotko, Chairman
M. Abele	H. P. Furth
V. H. Blackman	L. P. Harris
S. C. Brown	H. Harrișon
A. B. Cambel	G. S. Janes
D. Cummings	R. H. Lovberg
W. G. Dow	R. J. Rosa
J. D. Flynn	L. Smullin
J. A. Fox	G. W. Sutton
L. P. Harris	S. Way
H. Harrison	Arrangements Committee
W. Heiser	
G. S. Janes	B. I. Leidy, Chairman
M. Lessen	W. Emmerich
R. H. Lovberg	L. Frost
C. Mannal	M. Hoyaux
N. W. Mather	W. Hughes
P. Mostov	Z. Meiksin
R. F. Post	W. M. Rohrer
E. Reshotko	S. Way
G. W. Sutton	T. C. Tsu
A. W. Trivelpiece	F. Young
S. Wa y	
C. B. Wharton	

D. Whitehouse

H. Yeh